Overseas Intel
← Back to directory

University of Southampton

PublicRussell Group

Southampton, England, UK

Visit website ↗

About

Partial
StudentsNot reported
World ranking (2026)QS #87 · THE #129 · Guardian #20
Int'l tuition£23,800/yr
Acceptance rateNot reported

Southampton's live official fees page had already rolled over to 2027/28-entry figures by the research date (September 2026) -- genuine 2026/27 figures instead come from an archived version of that same official page dated 12 May 2026, where the shown home fee (£9,790) matches the confirmed 2026/27 UK-wide cap, confirming it's the right cycle. In that archived version, £23,800/year (BSc International Business) is the lowest international band; other bands include £24,400 (Nursing, Midwifery, Occupational Therapy), £24,800 (Economics, Mathematics, Modern Languages), £25,500 (English, History, Law, Politics), up to £31,000-£32,000 (Engineering, Computer Science, sciences), and £32,000/£61,800 (Medicine). Student size left blank (no dated total-enrollment figure found). QS rank 87 (2026 edition) is from QS's own dated 2026 archive table. THE rank 129th (2026) is confirmed from timeshighereducation.com, independently corroborated by Southampton's own 'Rankings and reputation' page, which also independently confirms Guardian rank 20th. No official acceptance rate published.

Official source ↗

BA English

Humanities

Verified

ABB (no specific subjects required)

2026/27 entry

Southampton's own BA English course page (course code Q300) gives a typical offer of ABB with no specific A-level subjects required. Mapped through Southampton's official A-level-band table at the ABB band: SAT 1300-1350 / ACT 27-29, one of three equally-valid paths. Page confirmed current for 2026/27 entry.

Official source ↗

BA Film Studies

Media & Journalism

Verified

ABB (no specific subjects required)

2026/27 entry

Southampton's own BA Film Studies course page (course code P303) gives a typical offer of ABB with no specific A-level subjects required. Mapped through Southampton's official A-level-band table at the ABB band: SAT 1300-1350 / ACT 27-29, one of three equally-valid paths. Page confirmed current for 2026/27 entry.

Official source ↗

BA History

Humanities

Verified

ABB (no specific subjects required)

2027/28 entryUCAS · Apply by Jan 13

Southampton's own BA History course page (course code V100) gives a typical offer of ABB with no specific A-level subjects required. Mapped through Southampton's official A-level-band table at the ABB band: SAT 1300-1350 / ACT 27-29, one of three equally-valid paths. Page confirmed current for 2026/27 and 2027/28 entry.

Official source ↗

BEng Civil Engineering

Engineering

Verified

AAA including Mathematics grade A (A-level)

2026/27 entry

Southampton's own BEng Civil Engineering course page (course code H200) gives a typical offer of AAA including Mathematics grade A. Picked in place of Architecture, which Southampton does not offer as a standalone undergraduate degree (confirmed via search -- only a joint Civil Engineering with Architectural Design MEng exists, not listed here). Mapped through Southampton's official A-level-band table at the AAA band: SAT 1350 / ACT 29, one of three equally-valid paths. Page confirmed current for 2026/27 entry.

Official source ↗

BEng Electronic Engineering

Engineering

Verified

AAA including Mathematics grade A and one of Physics, Electronics, Further Mathematics, or Computer Science at grade A (A-level)

2027/28 entry

Southampton's own BEng Electronic Engineering course page (course code H610) gives a typical offer of AAA including Mathematics grade A and one of Physics/Electronics/Further Mathematics/Computer Science at grade A. Mapped through Southampton's official A-level-band table at the AAA band: SAT 1350 / ACT 29, one of three equally-valid paths. Page confirmed current for 2026/27 and 2027/28 entry.

Official source ↗

BEng Maritime Engineering

Engineering

Verified

AAB including Mathematics grade A and one of Physics, Chemistry, or Further Mathematics (A-level)

2027/28 entry

Southampton's own BEng Maritime Engineering course page (course code J640) gives a typical offer of AAB including Mathematics grade A and one of Physics/Chemistry/Further Mathematics. This is Southampton's undergraduate ship-science/naval-architecture degree -- no separate 'Ship Science' or 'Naval Architecture' BEng exists; Maritime Engineering is the equivalent course. Mapped through Southampton's official A-level-band table at the AAB band: SAT 1300-1350 / ACT 27-29, one of three equally-valid paths. Page confirmed current for 2026/27 and 2027/28 entry.

Official source ↗

BEng Mechanical Engineering

Engineering

Verified

AAA including Mathematics grade A and Physics grade A, with a pass in the Physics Practical where separately endorsed (A-level, 2027/28 entry)

2027/28 entryUCAS · Apply by Jan 13

Southampton's own BEng Mechanical Engineering course page (course code H300) states a real, time-sensitive cycle change: the typical offer is A*AA for 2026/27 entry but drops to AAA for 2027/28 entry -- the more current 2027/28 figure (AAA including Maths and Physics at A) is used here. Mapped through Southampton's official A-level-band table at the AAA band: SAT 1350 / ACT 29, one of three equally-valid paths.

Official source ↗

BSc Accounting and Finance

Business & Management

Verified

AAB (no specific subjects required; GCSE Mathematics grade 6/B required, or 5 with A-level Maths/Physics/Economics/Geography/Psychology/Business at grade B)

2027/28 entryUCAS · Apply by Jan 13

Southampton's own BSc Accounting and Finance course page (course code N400) gives a typical offer of AAB with no specific A-level subjects required. Mapped through Southampton's official A-level-band table at the AAB band: SAT 1300-1350 / ACT 27-29, one of three equally-valid paths. Page confirmed current for 2026/27 and 2027/28 entry.

Official source ↗

BSc Biology

Natural Sciences & Mathematics

Verified

ABB including Biology and another Science subject (A-level)

2026/27 entryUCAS · Apply by Jan 13

Southampton's own BSc Biology course page (course code C100) gives a typical offer of ABB including Biology and another accepted Science subject, with a Pass in the practical science assessment where Biology/Chemistry/Physics satisfies the offer. Mapped through Southampton's official A-level-band table at the ABB band: SAT 1300-1350 / ACT 27-29, one of three equally-valid paths. Page confirmed current for 2026/27 entry.

Official source ↗

BSc Business Management

Business & Management

Verified

AAB (no specific subjects required; GCSE Mathematics grade 6/B required, or 5 with A-level Maths/Physics/Economics/Geography/Psychology/Business at grade B)

2026/27 entryUCAS · Apply by Jan 13

Southampton's own BSc Business Management course page (course code N202) gives a typical offer of AAB with no specific A-level subjects required. Mapped through Southampton's official A-level-band table at the AAB band: SAT 1300-1350 / ACT 27-29, one of three equally-valid paths. Page confirmed current for 2026/27 entry.

Official source ↗

BSc Chemistry

Natural Sciences & Mathematics

Verified

AAB including Chemistry, with a pass in the Practical endorsement where separately assessed (A-level)

2027/28 entryUCAS · Apply by Jan 13

Southampton's own BSc Chemistry course page (course code F100) gives a typical offer of AAB including Chemistry. Mapped through Southampton's official A-level-band table at the AAB band: SAT 1300-1350 / ACT 27-29, one of three equally-valid paths. Page confirmed current for 2026/27 and 2027/28 entry.

Official source ↗

BSc Economics

Economics

Verified

AAB including Mathematics (A-level)

2027/28 entryUCAS · Apply by Jan 13

Southampton's own BSc Economics course page (course code L100) gives a typical offer of AAB including A-level Mathematics (four-A-level applicants: ABBB including Maths). Mapped through Southampton's official A-level-band table at the AAB band: SAT 1300-1350 / ACT 27-29, one of three equally-valid paths. Page confirmed current for 2026/27 and 2027/28 entry.

Official source ↗

BSc Geography

Geography & Environmental Sciences

Verified

ABB (no specific subjects required)

2027/28 entryUCAS · Apply by Jan 13

Southampton's own BSc Geography course page (course code F800) gives a typical offer of ABB with no specific A-level subjects required (General Studies and Critical Thinking typically excluded). Mapped through Southampton's official A-level-band table at the ABB band: SAT 1300-1350 / ACT 27-29, one of three equally-valid paths. Page confirmed current for 2026/27 and 2027/28 entry.

Official source ↗

BSc Marine Biology

Natural Sciences & Mathematics

Verified

ABB including Biology grade B and another Science subject grade B (A-level)

2027/28 entry

Southampton's own BSc Marine Biology course page (course code F713) gives a typical offer of ABB including Biology grade B and another accepted Science subject grade B, with a Pass in the practical science assessment where Biology/Chemistry/Physics satisfies the offer. Mapped through Southampton's official A-level-band table at the ABB band: SAT 1300-1350 / ACT 27-29, one of three equally-valid paths. Page confirmed current for 2026/27 and 2027/28 entry.

Official source ↗

BSc Mathematics

Natural Sciences & Mathematics

Verified

AAA including Mathematics grade A (A-level; STEP alternative: AAB including Maths grade A plus grade 2 in a STEP paper)

2027/28 entry

Southampton's own BSc Mathematics course page (course code G100) gives a typical offer of AAA including Mathematics grade A, with a STEP-paper alternative route at AAB. Mapped through Southampton's official A-level-band table at the AAA band: SAT 1350 / ACT 29, one of three equally-valid paths. Page confirmed current for 2026/27 and 2027/28 entry.

Official source ↗

BSc Oceanography

Geography & Environmental Sciences

Verified

ABB including two accepted Science subjects grade B (A-level; Biology, Chemistry, Physics, Mathematics, Psychology, Statistics, Environmental Science, Environmental Studies, Geography, Geology accepted)

2026/27 entryUCAS · Apply by Jan 13

Southampton's own BSc Oceanography course page (course code F710) gives a typical offer of ABB including two accepted Science subjects at grade B. Taught at the National Oceanography Centre Southampton (NOCS). Mapped through Southampton's official A-level-band table at the ABB band: SAT 1300-1350 / ACT 27-29, one of three equally-valid paths. Page confirmed current for 2026/27 entry.

Official source ↗

BSc Physics

Natural Sciences & Mathematics

Verified

AAA-AAB including Physics grade A and Mathematics or Further Mathematics grade A (A-level)

2027/28 entryUCAS · Apply by Jan 13

Southampton's own BSc Physics course page (course code F300) gives a typical offer range of AAA-AAB including Physics grade A and Mathematics/Further Mathematics grade A. Mapped through Southampton's official A-level-band table: AAB = SAT 1300 / ACT 27 (low end), AAA = SAT 1350 / ACT 29 (high end), one of three equally-valid paths per band. Page confirmed current for 2026/27 and 2027/28 entry.

Official source ↗

BSc Politics and International Relations

International Relations & Politics

Verified

ABB (no specific subjects required)

2027/28 entry

Southampton's own BSc Politics and International Relations course page (course code L260) gives a typical offer of ABB with no specific A-level subjects required (General Studies and Critical Thinking typically excluded). Mapped through Southampton's official A-level-band table at the ABB band: SAT 1300-1350 / ACT 27-29, one of three equally-valid paths. Page confirmed current for 2026/27 and 2027/28 entry.

Official source ↗

BSc Psychology

Psychology

Verified

AAB including an accepted Science subject, or AAA without one (A-level; Biology, Chemistry, Physics, Mathematics, Psychology, Statistics, Environmental Science, Environmental Studies, Geography, Geology accepted)

2026/27 entryUCAS · Apply by Jan 13

Southampton's own BSc Psychology course page (course code C800) gives a typical offer of AAB including an accepted Science subject (or AAA without one). Mapped through Southampton's official A-level-band table at the AAB band: SAT 1300-1350 / ACT 27-29, one of three equally-valid paths. Page confirmed current for 2026/27 entry.

Official source ↗

Computer Science BSc

Computer Science & Computing

Verified

A*AA (A-level, including Mathematics)

2027 entryUCAS · Apply by Jan 13

Southampton publishes its own A-level-band-to-US-qualification table for US applicants, the same style of school-published equivalency Exeter uses -- each band (A*AA, AAA, AAB, ABB, BBB) maps to AP scores, an SAT/ACT option, or a college-GPA option. Computer Science BSc's own A-level offer (A*AA including Maths, confirmed on the course page) sits in the top A*AA band, which the table gives as '2 AP tests at 5,5 plus either an ACT score of 31 or an SAT score of 1350.' Important caveat kept in this note rather than in the requirement fields above: SAT/ACT here satisfies only one of three required components (alongside GPA and other tests), and the page explicitly states standardized tests cannot cover the course's subject-specific Mathematics requirement -- so this figure represents one real, band-matched part of the offer, not a standalone sufficient score. Tuition not confirmed to a specific figure -- left unpublished.

Official source ↗

LLB Law

Law

Verified

AAA (at least two traditionally exam/coursework-assessed A-levels required; GCSE Mathematics grade 4/C also required)

2027/28 entryUCAS · Apply by Jan 13

Southampton's own LLB Law course page (course code M100) gives a typical offer of AAA with no specific subjects, though at least two A-levels must be primarily written-coursework/exam-assessed rather than practical/performance-based. Mapped through Southampton's official A-level-band table: AAA = SAT 1350 / ACT 29, one of three equally-valid paths (alongside a 3-AP-test route and a GPA/Honors route). Page confirmed current for 2026/27 and 2027/28 entry.

Official source ↗

Aeronautics and Astronautics BEng

Engineering

Partial

A*AA including Mathematics (min. grade A) and Physics (min. grade A), with a pass in the Physics Practical (A-level)

£31,000/yr (international)2027 entryUCAS · Apply by Jan 13

Southampton's own course page confirms the A-level standard above and international tuition of £31,000/year, and names no SAT/ACT figure for US applicants -- entry pathways listed cover A-level, IB, BTEC, Irish Leaving Cert, Scottish quals, Welsh Bacc, and T-Level only. Note: some third-party aggregators cite an SAT Subject Test-based pathway (700/700/700) for this course, but SAT Subject Tests were discontinued by the College Board in January 2021 and do not appear on this current, directly-checked page -- that aggregator figure is stale and was not used here. No direct SAT/ACT figure published. Kept at 'partial'.

Official source ↗

Medicine BM5 (A100)

Medicine & Health Sciences

ECFMG Sponsor NotePartial

AAA including Biology and one additional science (A-level)

current (2024-entry UCAT threshold cited, subject to annual change)UCAS · Apply by Oct 15

Southampton runs three Medicine routes, and only one is open to international applicants: BM5 (A100, the standard 5-year course) accepts international students, while BM6 (a widening-participation route) and A102 (graduate entry) are explicitly UK-applicants-only -- a real, course-specific distinction worth recording on its own, confirmed via search of Southampton's own course pages for each route. BM5's own page confirms the AAA-including-Biology-and-a-second-science standard and a UCAT threshold of 2850/3600 for international applicants (2024 entry), but names no SAT, ACT, or AP figure anywhere. No direct SAT/ACT figure published.

Official source ↗

Curious how your own SAT or ACT score reads against a specific course?

Open the calculator →

Frequently asked questions

What SAT or ACT score do I need for BA English at University of Southampton?

University of Southampton publishes SAT 1300–1350 or ACT 27–29 for BA English. This is the institution's own published figure for US applicants, not a third-party conversion.

What SAT or ACT score do I need for BA Film Studies at University of Southampton?

University of Southampton publishes SAT 1300–1350 or ACT 27–29 for BA Film Studies. This is the institution's own published figure for US applicants, not a third-party conversion.

What SAT or ACT score do I need for BA History at University of Southampton?

University of Southampton publishes SAT 1300–1350 or ACT 27–29 for BA History. This is the institution's own published figure for US applicants, not a third-party conversion.

What SAT or ACT score do I need for BEng Civil Engineering at University of Southampton?

University of Southampton publishes SAT 1350+ or ACT 29+ for BEng Civil Engineering. This is the institution's own published figure for US applicants, not a third-party conversion.

What SAT or ACT score do I need for BEng Electronic Engineering at University of Southampton?

University of Southampton publishes SAT 1350+ or ACT 29+ for BEng Electronic Engineering. This is the institution's own published figure for US applicants, not a third-party conversion.

What SAT or ACT score do I need for BEng Maritime Engineering at University of Southampton?

University of Southampton publishes SAT 1300–1350 or ACT 27–29 for BEng Maritime Engineering. This is the institution's own published figure for US applicants, not a third-party conversion.

What SAT or ACT score do I need for BEng Mechanical Engineering at University of Southampton?

University of Southampton publishes SAT 1350+ or ACT 29+ for BEng Mechanical Engineering. This is the institution's own published figure for US applicants, not a third-party conversion.

What SAT or ACT score do I need for BSc Accounting and Finance at University of Southampton?

University of Southampton publishes SAT 1300–1350 or ACT 27–29 for BSc Accounting and Finance. This is the institution's own published figure for US applicants, not a third-party conversion.

What SAT or ACT score do I need for BSc Biology at University of Southampton?

University of Southampton publishes SAT 1300–1350 or ACT 27–29 for BSc Biology. This is the institution's own published figure for US applicants, not a third-party conversion.

What SAT or ACT score do I need for BSc Business Management at University of Southampton?

University of Southampton publishes SAT 1300–1350 or ACT 27–29 for BSc Business Management. This is the institution's own published figure for US applicants, not a third-party conversion.

What SAT or ACT score do I need for BSc Chemistry at University of Southampton?

University of Southampton publishes SAT 1300–1350 or ACT 27–29 for BSc Chemistry. This is the institution's own published figure for US applicants, not a third-party conversion.

What SAT or ACT score do I need for BSc Economics at University of Southampton?

University of Southampton publishes SAT 1300–1350 or ACT 27–29 for BSc Economics. This is the institution's own published figure for US applicants, not a third-party conversion.

What SAT or ACT score do I need for BSc Geography at University of Southampton?

University of Southampton publishes SAT 1300–1350 or ACT 27–29 for BSc Geography. This is the institution's own published figure for US applicants, not a third-party conversion.

What SAT or ACT score do I need for BSc Marine Biology at University of Southampton?

University of Southampton publishes SAT 1300–1350 or ACT 27–29 for BSc Marine Biology. This is the institution's own published figure for US applicants, not a third-party conversion.

What SAT or ACT score do I need for BSc Mathematics at University of Southampton?

University of Southampton publishes SAT 1350+ or ACT 29+ for BSc Mathematics. This is the institution's own published figure for US applicants, not a third-party conversion.

What SAT or ACT score do I need for BSc Oceanography at University of Southampton?

University of Southampton publishes SAT 1300–1350 or ACT 27–29 for BSc Oceanography. This is the institution's own published figure for US applicants, not a third-party conversion.

What SAT or ACT score do I need for BSc Physics at University of Southampton?

University of Southampton publishes SAT 1300–1350 or ACT 27–29 for BSc Physics. This is the institution's own published figure for US applicants, not a third-party conversion.

What SAT or ACT score do I need for BSc Politics and International Relations at University of Southampton?

University of Southampton publishes SAT 1300–1350 or ACT 27–29 for BSc Politics and International Relations. This is the institution's own published figure for US applicants, not a third-party conversion.

What SAT or ACT score do I need for BSc Psychology at University of Southampton?

University of Southampton publishes SAT 1300–1350 or ACT 27–29 for BSc Psychology. This is the institution's own published figure for US applicants, not a third-party conversion.

What SAT or ACT score do I need for Computer Science BSc at University of Southampton?

University of Southampton publishes SAT 1350+ or ACT 31+ for Computer Science BSc. This is the institution's own published figure for US applicants, not a third-party conversion.

What SAT or ACT score do I need for LLB Law at University of Southampton?

University of Southampton publishes SAT 1350+ or ACT 29+ for LLB Law. This is the institution's own published figure for US applicants, not a third-party conversion.