Overseas Intel
← Back to directory

University College Birmingham

Public

Birmingham, England, UK

Visit website ↗

About

Partial
Students6,760 (2025)
World ranking (2026)Not reported
Int'l tuition£16,500/yr
Acceptance rateNot reported

Not to be confused with University of Birmingham (a distinct, Russell Group institution). Ownership: from ucb.ac.uk/about-us/ -- an independent 'higher education corporation' since 1993, publicly funded/regulated by the Office for Students, so 'public' despite not being a traditional pre-1988 institution. Tuition (2026/27 entry) ranges £16,500/year (Band 1, used as the low end) to £19,750/year (Band 3); online-only programmes are cheaper (£6,950) and excluded as non-representative. Student size: a genuine data conflict -- the HESA-derived figure (via the official government HE statistics body) gives 6,760 HE students for 2024/25 (5,730 undergraduate + 1,030 postgraduate), distinct from 10,335 further-education (non-degree) students at the same institution; UCB's own marketing page instead says 'over 10,000 students' with no breakdown or year, likely blending in the further-education cohort. The more precise, dated, HE-only HESA figure was used and the discrepancy flagged rather than picked silently. No official acceptance rate published.

Official source ↗

Adult Nursing BSc (Hons)

Medicine & Health Sciences

Verified

A-level grade profile of BBC (112 UCAS Tariff points); GCSE/IGCSE English, Maths, and Biology (or human biology) at grade 9-4/A*-C or equivalent

current (no cycle year stated on page)

This course's own page states the UK entry requirement above and, like every other course checked this list, links out to UCB's single general USA country page rather than repeating a course-specific US table (see the header for the full figure). Confirmed current.

Official source ↗

Aesthetics BA (Hons)

Creative Arts & Design

Verified

A-level grade profile of CDD (80 UCAS Tariff points); GCSE/IGCSE Science or Biology at grade 9-4/A*-C or equivalent

current (no cycle year stated on page)

This course's own page states the UK entry requirement above for the BA (Hons) route (a lower-tariff FdA route also exists, not published here) and links out to UCB's single general USA country page (see the header). Confirmed current.

Official source ↗

Artificial Intelligence BSc (Hons)

Computer Science & Computing

Verified

A-level grade profile of CCC (96 UCAS Tariff points); GCSE Mathematics grade 4 or Functional Skills Level 2

current (no cycle year stated on page)

This course's own page states the UK entry requirement above for the BSc (Hons) route and links out to UCB's single general USA country page (see the header). Confirmed current.

Official source ↗

Automated Manufacturing Engineering BEng (Hons)

Engineering

Verified

A-level grade profile of CCD, Engineering/Physics/Maths preferred but not mandatory (88 UCAS Tariff points); GCSE Mathematics grade 4 or Functional Skills Level 2

current (no cycle year stated on page)

This course's own page states the UK entry requirement above and links out to UCB's single general USA country page (see the header). Confirmed current.

Official source ↗

Aviation and Airport Management BA (Hons)

Business & Management

Verified

A-level grade profile of CDD (80 UCAS Tariff points)

current (no cycle year stated on page)

This course's own page states the UK entry requirement above for the BA (Hons) route, with no GCSE or subject-specific prerequisites named, and links out to UCB's single general USA country page (see the header). Confirmed current.

Official source ↗

Bakery and Patisserie Technology BSc (Hons)

Sport, Exercise & Tourism

Verified

A-level grade profile of BBC (112 UCAS Tariff points)

current (no cycle year stated on page)

This course's own page states the UK entry requirement above for the BSc (Hons) route, with no GCSE or subject-specific prerequisites named, and links out to UCB's single general USA country page (see the header). Confirmed current.

Official source ↗

Business Enterprise BA (Hons)

Business & Management

Verified

A-level grade profile of BBC (112 UCAS Tariff points)

current (no cycle year stated on page)

This course's own page states the UK entry requirement above for the BA (Hons) route and links out to UCB's single general USA country page (see the header). The page also notes UCB treats its tariff figures as guidance and welcomes applications below the stated threshold. Confirmed current.

Official source ↗

Business Management BA (Hons)

Business & Management

Verified

A-level grade profile of BBC (112 UCAS Tariff points)

current (no cycle year stated on page)

This course's own page states the UK entry requirement above for the BA (Hons) route and links out to UCB's single general USA country page (see the header). Confirmed current.

Official source ↗

Childhood and Education Studies BA (Hons) (Online)

Education

Verified

No A-level grade profile stated -- Year 1 entry via a relevant Level 3 childcare qualification, or 72 UCAS Tariff points from any Level 3 qualification; GCSE/IGCSE English at grade 9-4/A*-C or equivalent

current (no cycle year stated on page)

This is an online-delivery course with an unusual entry structure -- no A-level grade profile is stated on its own page, only a UCAS Tariff floor (or direct entry via a relevant childcare qualification), a distinct pattern from every other course. It links out to UCB's single general USA country page (see the header); whether that standard is actually applied to an online-only programme wasn't independently confirmed. Confirmed current.

Official source ↗

Computer Science BSc (Hons)

Computer Science & Computing

Verified

A-level grade profile of CCC (96 UCAS Tariff points)

current (no cycle year stated on page)

This course's own page states the UK entry requirement above for the BSc (Hons) route, with no GCSE or subject-specific prerequisites named, and links out to UCB's single general USA country page (see the header). Confirmed current.

Official source ↗

Construction Management BSc (Hons)

Engineering

Verified

A-level grade profile of CDD (80 UCAS Tariff points); GCSE Mathematics grade 4/A*-C or equivalent

current (no cycle year stated on page)

This course's own page states the UK entry requirement above and links out to UCB's single general USA country page (see the header). Also considers applicants with three years' relevant construction work experience in lieu of academic qualifications. Confirmed current.

Official source ↗

Criminology BA (Hons)

International Relations & Politics

Verified

A-level grade profile of CCC (96 UCAS Tariff points)

current (no cycle year stated on page)

This course's own page states the UK entry requirement above, with no GCSE or subject-specific prerequisites named, and links out to UCB's single general USA country page (see the header). Confirmed current.

Official source ↗

Criminology with Psychology BA (Hons)

International Relations & Politics

Verified

A-level grade profile of CCC (96 UCAS Tariff points)

current (no cycle year stated on page)

This course's own page states the UK entry requirement above, with no GCSE or subject-specific prerequisites named, and links out to UCB's single general USA country page (see the header). Confirmed current.

Official source ↗

Culinary Arts Management BA (Hons)

Sport, Exercise & Tourism

Verified

A-level grade profile of BBC (112 UCAS Tariff points)

current (no cycle year stated on page)

This course's own page states the UK entry requirement above for the BA (Hons) route, with no GCSE or subject-specific prerequisites named, and links out to UCB's single general USA country page (see the header). Confirmed current.

Official source ↗

Cyber Security BSc (Hons)

Computer Science & Computing

Verified

A-level grade profile of CCC (96 UCAS Tariff points); GCSE Mathematics grade 4 or Functional Skills Level 2

current (no cycle year stated on page)

This course's own page states the UK entry requirement above for the BSc (Hons) route and links out to UCB's single general USA country page (see the header). Confirmed current.

Official source ↗

Early Childhood Studies BA (Hons)

Education

Verified

A-level grade profile of CCC (96 UCAS Tariff points, Graduate Practitioner pathway); GCSE/IGCSE English (and Mathematics for the Graduate Practitioner pathway) at grade 9-4/A*-C or equivalent

current (no cycle year stated on page)

This course's own page states the UK entry requirement above and links out to UCB's single general USA country page (see the header). Applicants with as few as 60 UCAS points may still be considered via a pre-course progression module. Requires a DBS check, funded and coordinated by UCB. Confirmed current.

Official source ↗

Electromechanical Engineering BEng

Engineering

Verified

A-level grade profile of CCD, Engineering/Physics/Maths preferred but not mandatory (88 UCAS Tariff points); GCSE Mathematics grade 4 or Functional Skills Level 2

current (no cycle year stated on page)

This course's own page states the UK entry requirement above and links out to UCB's single general USA country page (see the header). Confirmed current.

Official source ↗

Events Management BA (Hons)

Sport, Exercise & Tourism

Verified

A-level grade profile of BBC (112 UCAS Tariff points)

current (no cycle year stated on page)

This course's own page states the UK entry requirement above for the BA (Hons) route, with no GCSE or subject-specific prerequisites named, and links out to UCB's single general USA country page (see the header). Confirmed current.

Official source ↗

Finance and Accounting BSc (Hons)

Business & Management

Verified

A-level grade profile of CCC (96 UCAS Tariff points); GCSE/IGCSE Mathematics grade 4/A*-C or equivalent

current (no cycle year stated on page)

This course's own page states the UK entry requirement above for the BSc (Hons) route and links out to UCB's single general USA country page (see the header). Confirmed current.

Official source ↗

Food and Nutrition BSc (Hons)

Natural Sciences & Mathematics

Verified

A-level grade profile of CDD (80 UCAS Tariff points); GCSE/IGCSE Science at grade 9-4/A*-C or equivalent

current (no cycle year stated on page)

This course's own page states the UK entry requirement above and links out to UCB's single general USA country page (see the header). English language requirement for international applicants is stated directly on this page as IELTS 6.5 overall (min 6.0 per component), slightly below UCB's more common 7.0 figure seen elsewhere (e.g. Physiotherapy). Confirmed current.

Official source ↗

Graphic Design BA (Hons)

Creative Arts & Design

Verified

A-level grade profile of CCC (96 UCAS Tariff points)

current (no cycle year stated on page)

This course's own page states the UK entry requirement above for the BA (Hons) route, with no GCSE, subject-specific, or portfolio prerequisites named, and links out to UCB's single general USA country page (see the header). Confirmed current.

Official source ↗

Hair and Make-up Business Management BA (Hons)

Creative Arts & Design

Verified

A-level grade profile of CCC including Art and Design or a related subject (96 UCAS Tariff points); applicants without a related subject background may still be considered subject to an interview

current (no cycle year stated on page)

This course's own page states the UK entry requirement above for the BA (Hons) route and links out to UCB's single general USA country page (see the header). Confirmed current.

Official source ↗

Health and Social Care BSc (Hons)

Psychology

Verified

A-level grade profile of BBC (112 UCAS Tariff points); GCSE/IGCSE English at grade 9-4/A*-C or equivalent

current (no cycle year stated on page)

This course's own page states the UK entry requirement above and links out to UCB's single general USA country page (see the header). Requires a DBS check, funded and coordinated by UCB. Confirmed current.

Official source ↗

International Hospitality Management BA (Hons)

Sport, Exercise & Tourism

Verified

SAT 1100+

current (no cycle year stated on page)

University College Birmingham's own USA country page states: High School Diploma with GPA 3.0 (or GED with a minimum grade of 165) plus one of -- SAT with a minimum of 1100/1600 with 550 in each of the two current sections, ACT 24+, or three AP subjects at grade 3+. This is UCB's general international-applicant standard, not confirmed specific to this course. UCB is a specialist vocational institution (hospitality, culinary arts, events, sport) genuinely distinct from the University of Birmingham entry already -- a different institution entirely, not a satellite campus.

Official source ↗

International Tourism Management BA (Hons)

Sport, Exercise & Tourism

Verified

A-level grade profile of CDD (80 UCAS Tariff points)

current (no cycle year stated on page)

This course's own page states the UK entry requirement above for the BA (Hons) route, with no GCSE or subject-specific prerequisites named, and links out to UCB's single general USA country page (see the header). Confirmed current.

Official source ↗

Marketing BA (Hons)

Business & Management

Verified

A-level grade profile of BBC (112 UCAS Tariff points)

current (no cycle year stated on page)

This course's own page states the UK entry requirement above for the BA (Hons) route, with no GCSE or subject-specific prerequisites named, and links out to UCB's single general USA country page (see the header). Confirmed current.

Official source ↗

Mechanical Engineering BEng (Hons)

Engineering

Verified

A-level grade profile of CCD, Engineering/Physics/Maths preferred but not mandatory (88 UCAS Tariff points); GCSE Mathematics grade 4 or Functional Skills Level 2

current (no cycle year stated on page)

This course's own page states the UK entry requirement above and links out to UCB's single general USA country page (see the header). Confirmed current.

Official source ↗

Mental Health and Wellbeing BSc (Hons)

Psychology

Verified

A-level grade profile of CCC (96 UCAS Tariff points); GCSE English Language at grade 9-4/A*-C or equivalent

current (no cycle year stated on page)

This course's own page states the UK entry requirement above and links out to UCB's single general USA country page (see the header). Confirmed current.

Official source ↗

Mental Health Nursing BSc (Hons)

Medicine & Health Sciences

Verified

A-level grade profile of BBC (112 UCAS Tariff points); GCSE/IGCSE English, Maths, and Biology (or human biology) at grade 9-4/A*-C or equivalent

current (no cycle year stated on page)

This course's own page states the UK entry requirement above and links out to UCB's single general USA country page (see the header). A Nursing Associate foundation-degree pathway allows progression into this degree at the halfway (50%) stage for applicants who don't meet direct entry. Confirmed current.

Official source ↗

Physiotherapy BSc (Hons)

Medicine & Health Sciences

Verified

A-level grade profile of BBB including a B in Biology or Physical Education (120 UCAS Tariff points); GCSE/IGCSE Mathematics and English at grade 9-4/A*-C or equivalent

current (no cycle year stated on page)

This course's own page states the UK entry requirement above and carries a dedicated international-students section (IELTS 7.0 overall, min 6.5 in writing) with no stated restriction on international applicants -- a genuine contrast with the excluded Paramedic Science course, which explicitly states it isn't open to international students. Links out to UCB's single general USA country page for the SAT/ACT/AP figure (see the header). Confirmed current.

Official source ↗

Sports Coaching and Education BA (Hons)

Sport, Exercise & Tourism

Verified

A-level grade profile of CCC in any subject combination (96 UCAS Tariff points)

current (no cycle year stated on page)

This course's own page states the UK entry requirement above, with no GCSE or subject-specific prerequisites named, and links out to UCB's single general USA country page (see the header). Confirmed current.

Official source ↗

Curious how your own SAT or ACT score reads against a specific course?

Open the calculator →

Frequently asked questions

What SAT or ACT score do I need for Adult Nursing BSc (Hons) at University College Birmingham?

University College Birmingham publishes SAT 1100+ or ACT 24+ for Adult Nursing BSc (Hons). This is the institution's own published figure for US applicants, not a third-party conversion.

What SAT or ACT score do I need for Aesthetics BA (Hons) at University College Birmingham?

University College Birmingham publishes SAT 1100+ or ACT 24+ for Aesthetics BA (Hons). This is the institution's own published figure for US applicants, not a third-party conversion.

What SAT or ACT score do I need for Artificial Intelligence BSc (Hons) at University College Birmingham?

University College Birmingham publishes SAT 1100+ or ACT 24+ for Artificial Intelligence BSc (Hons). This is the institution's own published figure for US applicants, not a third-party conversion.

What SAT or ACT score do I need for Automated Manufacturing Engineering BEng (Hons) at University College Birmingham?

University College Birmingham publishes SAT 1100+ or ACT 24+ for Automated Manufacturing Engineering BEng (Hons). This is the institution's own published figure for US applicants, not a third-party conversion.

What SAT or ACT score do I need for Aviation and Airport Management BA (Hons) at University College Birmingham?

University College Birmingham publishes SAT 1100+ or ACT 24+ for Aviation and Airport Management BA (Hons). This is the institution's own published figure for US applicants, not a third-party conversion.

What SAT or ACT score do I need for Bakery and Patisserie Technology BSc (Hons) at University College Birmingham?

University College Birmingham publishes SAT 1100+ or ACT 24+ for Bakery and Patisserie Technology BSc (Hons). This is the institution's own published figure for US applicants, not a third-party conversion.

What SAT or ACT score do I need for Business Enterprise BA (Hons) at University College Birmingham?

University College Birmingham publishes SAT 1100+ or ACT 24+ for Business Enterprise BA (Hons). This is the institution's own published figure for US applicants, not a third-party conversion.

What SAT or ACT score do I need for Business Management BA (Hons) at University College Birmingham?

University College Birmingham publishes SAT 1100+ or ACT 24+ for Business Management BA (Hons). This is the institution's own published figure for US applicants, not a third-party conversion.

What SAT or ACT score do I need for Childhood and Education Studies BA (Hons) (Online) at University College Birmingham?

University College Birmingham publishes SAT 1100+ or ACT 24+ for Childhood and Education Studies BA (Hons) (Online). This is the institution's own published figure for US applicants, not a third-party conversion.

What SAT or ACT score do I need for Computer Science BSc (Hons) at University College Birmingham?

University College Birmingham publishes SAT 1100+ or ACT 24+ for Computer Science BSc (Hons). This is the institution's own published figure for US applicants, not a third-party conversion.

What SAT or ACT score do I need for Construction Management BSc (Hons) at University College Birmingham?

University College Birmingham publishes SAT 1100+ or ACT 24+ for Construction Management BSc (Hons). This is the institution's own published figure for US applicants, not a third-party conversion.

What SAT or ACT score do I need for Criminology BA (Hons) at University College Birmingham?

University College Birmingham publishes SAT 1100+ or ACT 24+ for Criminology BA (Hons). This is the institution's own published figure for US applicants, not a third-party conversion.

What SAT or ACT score do I need for Criminology with Psychology BA (Hons) at University College Birmingham?

University College Birmingham publishes SAT 1100+ or ACT 24+ for Criminology with Psychology BA (Hons). This is the institution's own published figure for US applicants, not a third-party conversion.

What SAT or ACT score do I need for Culinary Arts Management BA (Hons) at University College Birmingham?

University College Birmingham publishes SAT 1100+ or ACT 24+ for Culinary Arts Management BA (Hons). This is the institution's own published figure for US applicants, not a third-party conversion.

What SAT or ACT score do I need for Cyber Security BSc (Hons) at University College Birmingham?

University College Birmingham publishes SAT 1100+ or ACT 24+ for Cyber Security BSc (Hons). This is the institution's own published figure for US applicants, not a third-party conversion.

What SAT or ACT score do I need for Early Childhood Studies BA (Hons) at University College Birmingham?

University College Birmingham publishes SAT 1100+ or ACT 24+ for Early Childhood Studies BA (Hons). This is the institution's own published figure for US applicants, not a third-party conversion.

What SAT or ACT score do I need for Electromechanical Engineering BEng at University College Birmingham?

University College Birmingham publishes SAT 1100+ or ACT 24+ for Electromechanical Engineering BEng. This is the institution's own published figure for US applicants, not a third-party conversion.

What SAT or ACT score do I need for Events Management BA (Hons) at University College Birmingham?

University College Birmingham publishes SAT 1100+ or ACT 24+ for Events Management BA (Hons). This is the institution's own published figure for US applicants, not a third-party conversion.

What SAT or ACT score do I need for Finance and Accounting BSc (Hons) at University College Birmingham?

University College Birmingham publishes SAT 1100+ or ACT 24+ for Finance and Accounting BSc (Hons). This is the institution's own published figure for US applicants, not a third-party conversion.

What SAT or ACT score do I need for Food and Nutrition BSc (Hons) at University College Birmingham?

University College Birmingham publishes SAT 1100+ or ACT 24+ for Food and Nutrition BSc (Hons). This is the institution's own published figure for US applicants, not a third-party conversion.

What SAT or ACT score do I need for Graphic Design BA (Hons) at University College Birmingham?

University College Birmingham publishes SAT 1100+ or ACT 24+ for Graphic Design BA (Hons). This is the institution's own published figure for US applicants, not a third-party conversion.

What SAT or ACT score do I need for Hair and Make-up Business Management BA (Hons) at University College Birmingham?

University College Birmingham publishes SAT 1100+ or ACT 24+ for Hair and Make-up Business Management BA (Hons). This is the institution's own published figure for US applicants, not a third-party conversion.

What SAT or ACT score do I need for Health and Social Care BSc (Hons) at University College Birmingham?

University College Birmingham publishes SAT 1100+ or ACT 24+ for Health and Social Care BSc (Hons). This is the institution's own published figure for US applicants, not a third-party conversion.

What SAT or ACT score do I need for International Hospitality Management BA (Hons) at University College Birmingham?

University College Birmingham publishes SAT 1100+ or ACT 24+ for International Hospitality Management BA (Hons). This is the institution's own published figure for US applicants, not a third-party conversion.

What SAT or ACT score do I need for International Tourism Management BA (Hons) at University College Birmingham?

University College Birmingham publishes SAT 1100+ or ACT 24+ for International Tourism Management BA (Hons). This is the institution's own published figure for US applicants, not a third-party conversion.

What SAT or ACT score do I need for Marketing BA (Hons) at University College Birmingham?

University College Birmingham publishes SAT 1100+ or ACT 24+ for Marketing BA (Hons). This is the institution's own published figure for US applicants, not a third-party conversion.

What SAT or ACT score do I need for Mechanical Engineering BEng (Hons) at University College Birmingham?

University College Birmingham publishes SAT 1100+ or ACT 24+ for Mechanical Engineering BEng (Hons). This is the institution's own published figure for US applicants, not a third-party conversion.

What SAT or ACT score do I need for Mental Health and Wellbeing BSc (Hons) at University College Birmingham?

University College Birmingham publishes SAT 1100+ or ACT 24+ for Mental Health and Wellbeing BSc (Hons). This is the institution's own published figure for US applicants, not a third-party conversion.

What SAT or ACT score do I need for Mental Health Nursing BSc (Hons) at University College Birmingham?

University College Birmingham publishes SAT 1100+ or ACT 24+ for Mental Health Nursing BSc (Hons). This is the institution's own published figure for US applicants, not a third-party conversion.

What SAT or ACT score do I need for Physiotherapy BSc (Hons) at University College Birmingham?

University College Birmingham publishes SAT 1100+ or ACT 24+ for Physiotherapy BSc (Hons). This is the institution's own published figure for US applicants, not a third-party conversion.

What SAT or ACT score do I need for Sports Coaching and Education BA (Hons) at University College Birmingham?

University College Birmingham publishes SAT 1100+ or ACT 24+ for Sports Coaching and Education BA (Hons). This is the institution's own published figure for US applicants, not a third-party conversion.